Mayors of TorricelLa

Podestà and Mayors of Torricella Peligna from 1809 to 1866 and from 1915 to the present day

Mayors – 1809-1866

Sindaci (Mayors) – Torricella Peligna – 1809-1866

Information gathered by Angela Di Berardino from vital records at the National Archives in Chieti.

Before the fascist era, the villages and towns were led by mayors.  Then, in 1922, the Fascist Party ordered that the position of mayor be replaced by what was referred to as a Podestà, chosen directly by the central government.  After the end of the Second World War, elections occurred once again and the position of mayor was brought back. We list below the various people who have held these roles between 1915 until today.

Year / AnnoName / Nome
1809Antonio Porreca
1810Stefano Accettella
1811-1812Giovanni Di Paolo
1813-1814Giuseppe Teti
1815Lorenzo D’Annunzio
1816-1818Antonio Macchioli
1819-1821Giuseppe Teti
1822-1825Pietro Bonanni
1826-1827Carmine Antonio Di Sanctis
1828-1831Domenico Di Paolo
1832Ezechiele Macchioli
1833Donato D’Ulisse - secondo eletto (vice-mayor)
1834Gianvincenzo Vigezzi
1835Pietro Bonanni, secondo eletto (vice-mayor);
Camillo Piccone, sindaco in congedo (mayor on leave)
1836Gianvincenzo Vigezzi
1837-1839Giuseppe Di Paolo
1840-1842Domenico De Stefanis
1843-1849Camillo Teti fu Nicola
1850-1855Angelo Piccone di Camillo
1856-1857Pietro Antonio D’Annunzio
1858-1859Donato Teti
1860-1862Alberto Di Paolo
1863Camillo Persichitti
1864Felice Piccirelli

1915 to 1919

Vincenzo Antrilli di cianghette, vendor of foodstuff and miscellaneous items. (The photo was taken in the 1950s, at least 40 years after his mayorship)

1919 to 1925

Antonio Persichetti, well-to-do landowner

(Don Michele Persichetti’s brother)

1925 to 1936

Ottorino Piccone, Agronomist, Surveyor, Army Captain

Member of the National Fascist Party

1936 to 1944

Giovanni Verna, Elementary School Teacher

Member of the National Fascist Party

June 1944 – June 1946

In the two years after the war, from June of 1944 till mid-1946, there were three commissioners.  The first commissioner, Quirino de Laurentiis, was appointed by the Allies.  He was in charge of clearing out the rubble, but he kept the position for only 3 or 4 months.  He resigned because he was already very busy with his own affairs, the management of the oil mill, flour mill and the supply of electrical current.  He was followed by Antonio Porreca di pilucche, from November of 1944 till September of 1945.  He was an oil and wine merchant with a shop on the Corso (main street).  He was followed by Antonio Di Iorio di lu banne, an elementary school teacher (see photo below).  He remained in the position till June of 1946.  That is when the first two elections were held, the administrative elections which resulted in Antonio Teti di fidiriche becoming mayor and the Monarchy-Republican Referendum which resulted in Italy becoming a republic. 

1946 to 1951

In 1946 the first elections were held and the tradesman

Antonio Teti (di Federico) was elected.

Member of the Christian Democrats.

1951 to 1956

In 1951 Domenico Testa, Surveyor, was elected.

Member of the Socialist Party

He held office from 1951 to 1956.

In the 1956 elections he was re-elected, but after 3 years some of his majority members split from him and joined instead the Christian Democrats. In 1959 early elections were held and Nicola Rotondo was elected.

1959 to 1963

Nicola Rotondo, Surveyor, Member of the Christian Democrats, held office from 1959 to 1963.

In 1963 he was re-elected and since in 1964 he was also elected to the Provincial Council, he left the chair of Mayor to Mario Di Fabrizio.

1964 to 1967

Mario Di Fabrizio (di trummincielle) Employee at the Post Office.

Member of the Christian Democrats,

he held office for 3 years, from 1964 to 1967, until the end of

Nicola Rotondo’s mandate as Mayor

1967 to 1972

At the 1967 elections, Camillo Di Renzo (di macarullo), was elected

Mayor, Elementary School teacher

Member of the Christian Democrats.

He held office from 1967 to 1972

1972 to 1978

At the 1972 elections, Nicola Ficca (di muscone), was elected Mayor.

Teacher of Physical Education at the Middle Schools in Torricella ,

Member of the Christian Democrats, of which he was Political Secretary of the Local Section.

He held office from 1972 to 1978, one year extra because the government had instructed all the towns in Italy to hold their elections on the same day.

1978 to 1983

In 1978 there were new elections and Nicola Rotondo was proclaimed

Mayor for the third time: he held office from 1978 to 1983

1983 to 1990

At the 1983 elections there was a change in political leanings and

Mario Martinelli was elected mayor. Engineer, Member of the Communist Party, he headed a coalition of the Communist Party and the Socialist Party.

He held office from 1983 to 1988.

In 1988 he was re-elected but held office for just two years until 1990, because the members of the Socialist Party split from the majority and allied themselves with the Christian Democrats.

1990 to 2000

In 1990, elections were held early and Davide Piccoli was elected.

Surveyor, member of the Christian Democrats, he headed a coalition between the Christian Democrats and the Socialist Party.

He held office from 1990 to 1995 and at the next elections he was elected for a further five years until 2000.

2000 to 2006

At the elections in 2000 Graziano Zacchigna was elected. A surveyor, he led a coalition of the centre right. He held office from 2000 to 2005.  He was reelected in April 2005 and remained mayor until July 2006.

2007 – 2017

Tiziano Teti was elected mayor in 2007 and reelected in 2012 as part of the Civic List – The Alternative for Torricella (Lista Civica – L’Alternativa per Torricella). He and his family operate La Guardata Farm and Teti Butcher Shop (Macelleria Teti).

2017 – 

Carmine Ficca was elected mayor in 2017 and re-elected in 2022 as part of the Civic List –  Common Commitment for Torricella (Lista Civica – Impegno Comune per Torricella).

From 2007 to 2012 he  was a town councilor in charge of cultural affairs, and from 2012 to 2017 he was the deputy mayor.  In 2010 he received a degree in History of Philosophy from “Gabriele D’Annunzio” Chieti – Pescara.

Historical information courtesy of Antonio Piccoli, Mimmo Palizzi and Camillo Piccone.

Translation in English courtesy of Dr. Marion Apley Porreca and Dan Aspromonte.